North Dakota Public Service Commissioner, Seat 2

Employer / Organization

North Dakota

Next Election

Nov 05, 2024

Filing Window

Jan 02, 2024 - Sep 02, 2024


The North Dakota Public Service Commission is comprised of three members who are charged with overseeing and regulating electric and gas utilities, telecommunication, railroads, energy plants, and transmission facilities. The Commission is divided into seven divisions: Abandoned Mine Lands, Accounting, Legal, Licensing, Public Utilities, Reclamation, and Testing and Safety. Public Service Commissioners serve six-year terms with no limit on the number of terms served. The salary of this position is $99,435.

Application Guidelines
To file for this position follow these three steps: 1) Contact the North Dakota Secretary of State Division of Elections to confirm that your registered address qualifies you for the position you intend to run for, and that you meet other office specific qualifications. Obtain the correct candidacy filing paperwork. 2) Complete the required candidacy paperwork including: certification of nomination, affidavit of candidacy, nominating petitions if you are running as an independent and the appropriate campaign finance forms. File these papers with the appropriate filing officer. If you plan to run for a partisan position please contact your local party office for further instructions. 3) Submit the filing paperwork with the stipulated amount of signatures to the North Dakota Secretary of State Division of Elections. The amount of signatures varies by office. The filing deadline for independent candidates is the 64th day before the general election in November (if the 64th day before the general election falls on Labor Day, the deadline will be the following business day). Candidates may not circulate petitions earlier than 150 days from when they are due. The North Dakota Secretary of State Division of Elections is the point of contact for any questions or concerns you may have. The Division of Elections can be reached at (701) 328-4146. Additionally, the North Dakota Elections Calendar can be found here: